Skip to Main Content View Site Map
Top of Page
3 Cayuga CC Students Win SUNY Chancellors Awards

DATE: 05-04-2007

Three members of the class of 2007 at Cayuga Community College have received the highest recognition given annually by the State University of New York to students across the 64 SUNY campuses. Among the 283 statewide recipients of this year's SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence were:

* Kathryn Dineen of Auburn, liberal arts/humanities and social sciences major

* Shauna O?Brien of Fulton, early childhood major and Fulton campus liaison to the student government organization

* Jeremy Smelski of Auburn, 2006-7, liberal arts/mathematics and science major and student government president

On April 18 at a ceremony in Albany, each received the chancellor's congratulations, along with a plaque and a medal to wear at Cayuga commencement ceremonies on May 20.

The Chancellor's Award honors students who earn a grade point average (GPA) of at least 3.78 out of 4.0 and make a significant contribution to their campus or local community. To win the award, students must be nominated by their college, then undergo review by a SUNY committee in Albany to become finalists for selection by the chancellor.

“Recipients of this year's awards have excelled academically and, in many cases, far exceeded even their own expectations in their pursuit of higher education and community service,” said Chancellor Ryan. “I commend the campus presidents and their faculty and staff for discovering and enhancing student excellence throughout the year.”