Skip to Main Content View Site Map
Top of Page
Trustee Appointments, Elections at Cayuga Community College

DATE: 11-05-2008

The Board of Trustees of Cayuga Community College has welcomed a number of new members in recent months, with the expiration of other members' terms. Elections were held at the October 15 Board meeting to fill vacancies for chair and vice chair of the Board.

Genoa resident Jeffrey L. Edwards was elected chair, replacing Joseph T. Michaud, who stepped down in September following the expiration of his nine-year term. Edwards, who had been serving as vice chair, joined the board in December 2004 as a gubernatorial appointment by George Pataki, and has also served as secretary. A graduate of Clarkson College of Technology with a degree in accounting, he is the owner of Edwards Eggs in southern Cayuga County. Edwards has been chairman of the Cayuga County Civil Service Commission since 1998, and while serving on the Cayuga County Legislature from 1986 to 1991, he chaired the finance and judicial committees.

Auburn resident John M. Camardo was elected vice chair of the Board. An alumnus and former Student Trustee of the College, he was appointed by the Cayuga County Legislature in November 2005 to his current seven-year term. Employed as general sales manager and customer relations manager for H&L Ford/Lincoln/Mercury in Auburn since 1993, Camardo also owns and manages commercial and residential properties in Auburn and is a member of the City of Auburn Civil Service Commission. Camardo holds an associate's degree in accounting from Cayuga Community College and received a business degree from SUNY-Utica.

Linda P. Van Buskirk, Ph.D., of Aurora was appointed by Governor David Paterson in July 2008 to a seven-year term on the Board. A member of the faculty of Cornell University for twenty years, Van Buskirk, who teaches in the Department of Communication, holds a Ph.D. in English literature from the University of New Mexico. Her academic career has included appointments at King Saud University-Riyadh, University of California-Los Angeles, University of Southern Illinois-Carbondale, and in New York State at Clarkson University, SUNY Cortland and Wells College. A Cayuga County Legislator from 1994 to 1995, Van Buskirk has served since 1994 on the Economic Development Loan Committee of the Cayuga County Planning Department.

Fleming resident Stanley J. Kott was appointed to the Board of Trustees by the Cayuga County Legislature for a seven-year term beginning in August 2008. A graduate of the College and former Student Government Organization president, Kott earned a degree in management from Canisius College in Buffalo. Currently chief executive officer of Montpelier Underwriting Inc. in Hartford, Conn., and of Montpelier US Insurance Company in Scottsdale, Ariz., Kott serves on the boards of the Owasco Watershed Lake Association and several professional organizations, and is president of the Fleming Improvement Foundation. He is a member of the Board of Trustees of Wells College, whose finance committee he chairs.

Also serving on the ten-member Board of Trustees of Cayuga Community College are Jane J. Bowen of Union Springs and Auburn residents John A. Karpinski, Esq.; Pamela S. Kirkwood, Board secretary; Hon. Linda Murphy (Cayuga County Legislator, District 11); Gina Speno; and Student Trustee Christopher Green.