Skip to Main Content View Site Map
Top of Page
George Fearon Joins Cayuga Community College Board of Trustees

DATE: 02-25-2009

George Fearon

George C. Fearon of Springport has been appointed to serve as a member of the Cayuga Community College Board of Trustees by the Cayuga County Legislature. Fearon, who was sworn in as a trustee at the February meeting of the College Board of Trustees, was chosen to fulfill a term that expires in June, 2014, replacing former trustee Linda Murphy, who resigned from the board as of February 1, 2009.

Both Murphy and Fearon are members of the Cayuga County Legislature, Murphy for District 11 and Fearon for District 7. A native of Oklahoma, Fearon holds a bachelor's degree from Oklahoma State University and a master's degree in Library Science and Education from Emporia State University. He retired from the Union Springs Central School District in 2006 after 35 years of service as a library media specialist. Prior to his election as a county legislator, Fearon has held elective offices as a Union Springs village trustee, Springport town supervisor, and Springport Town Councilman. He is a former Master of his Masonic Lodge, a former member of the Auburn/Cayuga Chapter NAACP Board of Directors, and a past president of the Union Springs Teachers Association, Cayuga County School Employees Federal Credit Union, church council of Trinity United Church of Christ, and Union Springs Lions Club.