Skip to Main Content View Site Map
Top of Page
Cayuga Community College Recognizes its New Phi Theta Kappa Inductees, Award Winners on April 17

DATE: 04-17-2011

Cayuga Community College honored 40 students who were inducted into the Fulton Beta Tau Iota Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society on April 17 in the Student Lounge on the Fulton Campus, 806 W. Broadway.

Induction to the honor society signifies that the student has maintained a 3.65 or higher grade point average in a two-year accredited associate’s degree program as well as agreed to adhere to the moral standards of the society. Each inductee received a PTK Honor Stole to wear over his or her graduation gown from society advisors Kathy Sipling and Jeff Shea.  

President of the Fulton campus chapter Justin Ford ’11 served as the master of ceremonies, and Rev. Floyd Duger, the College Chaplain, delivered the Invocation and a closing Benediction.

College President Daniel P. Larson and Associate Vice President and Dean of the Fulton Campus Maggie Killoran also spoke at the event.

During the ceremony, Justin Ford and Geoff Bertollini received the Norman F. Bourke Memorial Award, which recognizes graduating members of Phi Theta Kappa, Beta Tau Iota Chapter, who demonstrate the leadership skills and academic excellence exemplified by former Dean Bourke.  Norman F. Bourke served as Cayuga College’s Academic Dean from the late 1950’s until his death in 1978.

This year’s inductees are Cralynne Abbott, Julie Adams, Geoffrey Bertollini, Wendy Blake, Mandy Boyce, Jason Chase, James Coulter, Kathleen Curley, Joel Dodge, Heidi Donahue, Mary Angela Fisher, Ashley Flynn, David Halstead, Merrill House, Benjamin Kellogg, Sara Kiesinger, Rebecca Knopp, Laura Kolanda, William LaBrake, Anna Nicole Leiter, Heidi Mangiola, Margaret Murray, Donald Nalle Jr., Shelly Nichols, Jessica Norris, Heather Olivia, Elizabeth Painter, Tina Patience, Lucas Petty, Mariah Pritchard, Charity Purchas, Susanne Reichley, Thania Reyome, Peter Rowley, Michael Russell, Adele Sanchez, Johnny Santiago, Wendy Visser, Jared Waters, and Michele Yanock.

Following the presentations, the inductees and their families and friends were invited to a reception in their honor.